December 1, 2022

Karim Benzema won the 2022 Ballon d‘Or for the first time in his career by defeating Sadio Mane.

The French striker was the odds–on favourite to win the prized accolade after leading Real Madrid to Champions League victory at the expense of Bayern Munich star Mane’s now-former club, Liverpool.

The race featured numerous footballing celebrities, with Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne and Barcelona’s Robert Lewandowski finishing third and fourth, respectively.Infomation Guide Nigeria

Current Liverpool star Mohamed Salah entered the top five, surpassing Paris Saint-Kylian Germain’s Mbappe, who might be playing for another club in January if he has his way.

Thibaut Courtois finished eighth and also won the Yashin Trophy for the finest goalkeeper. He helped Real Madrid win their record 14th European title in June.

2022 Ballon d’Or rankings in full

25. Darwin Nunez (Liverpool and Uruguay)

25. Christopher Nkunku (RB Leipzig and France)

25. Joao Cancelo (Manchester City and Portugal)

25. Antonio Rudiger (Real Madrid and Germany)

25. Mike Maignan (AC Milan and France)

25. Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich and Germany)

22. Bernardo Silva (Manchester City and Portugal)

22. Phil Foden (Manchester City and England)

22. Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool and England)

21. Harry Kane ( Tottenham and England)

20. Cristiano Ronaldo ( Manchester United and Portugal)

17. Luis Diaz (Liverpool and Colombia)

17. Casemiro (Manchester United and Brazil)

16. Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool and Netherlands)

14. Rafael Leao (AC Milan and Portugal)

14. Fabinho (Liverpool and Brazil)

13. Sebastien Haller (Borussia Dortmund and Ivory Coast)

12. Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City and Algeria)

11. Son Heung-min (Tottenham and South Korea)

10. Erling Haaland (Manchester City and Norway)

9. Luka Modric (Real Madrid and Croatia)

8. Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid and Brazil)

7. Thibaut Courtis (Real Madrid and Belgium)

6. Kylian Mbappe (PSG and France)

5. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool and Egypt)

4. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich and Poland)

3. Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City and Belgium)

2. Sadio Mane (Liverpool and Senegal)

1. Karim Benzema (Real Madrid and France)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *