February 4, 2023

Manchester United and Chelsea faced off in the UEFA Champions League Final in 2007–08. It was the first time that two clubs from England’s Premier League played in the Champions League final.

The fact that Russia hosted the finals is also a first. While this was Chelsea’s first UEFA Champions League final, it was Manchester United’s third.

Despite Ronaldo’s early goal for United, Chelsea’s Frank Lampard equalized shortly afterward. Edwin Van De Sar was selected as the game’s most valuable player for his performance in helping Manchester United earn a penalty shootout victory. Neither John Terry nor Nicolas Anelka could find the back of the goal.

On the flip side, Ronald was also unable to score. Finally, with only four minutes remaining, Didier Drogba was sent off for a slap to the face of Nemanja Vidic.

Sir Alex Ferguson fielded his normal powerful starting XI and his favored 4-4-2 formation. Check out the full cast list below.


The initial two-man attack featured Carlos Tevez and Wayne Rooney. Tevez is currently playing at Bocaniors while Rooney is coaching Derby County after retiring from the sport.


The eagle’s wings were the launching pad for both Christian Ronald and Hargreaves. Hargreaves retired from the sport, and Ronald returned for one final season with Manchester United.

The midfield was controlled by Paul Scholes and Michael Carrick. The latter group includes the current Old Trafford coaching staff.


In the back line, they had Nemanja Vidic, Rio Ferdinand, Patrice Evra, and Wes Brown. The careers of these athletes are over.


Edwin Van De Sar became a premier goalkeeper after joining Manchester United from Fulham in 2005. With his penalty saves against Anelka, he ensured United’s second championship. He currently serves as CEO of Ajax.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *